Presenting the 2021 NOA Jury

We are here by proud to present this year’s jury for the Nordic Optical Awards 2021.

Nomination period closes on April 30, 2021.

Harald Angström

Licensed Optician, Sweden

Harald is currently active as a Senior Management consultant. He started as trainee in the optical industry 1974. Harald has gained extensive experience from senior positions such as CEO for Coopervision Nordic. He has also held other senior positions, most recent role was to start and build the Professional Affairs organization within Coopervision EMEA.

Harald has always been driven by the need to develop the industry and the people who are active within it, to be able to assert themselves against other industries. Today, Harald is, among other things, active as a moderator at the Optics Fair where he drives future issues in the optics industry.

NOA Jury member 2020
NOA Jury member 2020

Pia Mäkelä

PhD, Optometrist EU, Finland

Pia is a senior lecturer at the Helsinki Metropolia University of Applied Science and is responsible for contact lens education at the Degree Programme in Optometry. She also teaches topics related to abnormal ocular conditions, low vision and visual perception.

Dr Mäkelä is a Finnish optometrist who obtained her PhD in Vision Science at the Aston University in 1994, after which she worked as a lecturer at the Cardiff University until returning to Finland in 2008. Dr Mäkelä is a fellow member of IACLE and the treasurer of the Finnish Contact Lens Association.

Kjersti Lindblad

Lecturer, MPH, MSc.Optom, Denmark

Kjersti K. Lindblad has taught at The Copenhagen School of Optometry for the last 15 years, mostly within the areas of Ocular Pathology, Contact lenses and Scientific Research Methods. She has a Master of Science in Clinical Optometry from SALUS University (2006), and a Master of Public Health from Copenhagen University (2012).

She has worked as a Contact Lens Specialist, Store Manager and Occupational Optometrist in all the Scandinavian Countries, and is currently working with a committee for the Danish Optometrist Association on producing Denmarks first set of Clinical Guidelines for Optometrists.

She has been involved with clinical research focused on the link between Convergence Insufficiency and ADHD-medication, and has also done research within myopiacontrol.

NOA Jury member 2020
NOA Jury member 2020

Ann Elisabeth Ystenæs

MSc, Optometrist, Norway

Ann Elisabeth Ystenæs is an associate professor at the University of South-Eastern Norway. Her main areas of teaching are contact lenses and dry eyes. She also coordinates contact lens and dry eye education at the bachelor and master programs.

Her optometry background is from Norway, Scotland and Pennsylvania. She started teaching in 1989, after working some years in private practice and a hospital eye department. Ann Elisabeth Ystenæs is fellow of IACLE (International Association of Contact Lens Educators).

Robert Kron

Creative Director. Scandinavian Retail Center, All Countries

Robert has more than 40 years as a communicator and designer in the advertising industry. He previously worked at: Skjödebrand & Sjögren advertising agency as Art Director, Bates Sweden as Creative Director, Cronert & Company as Owner & Art Director and IKEA Communication as Creative Director for the IKEA Catalogue.

For the past 18 years Robert specialized in retail communication and retail design. He did this with: Inter IKEA Systems Services AB – retail concept development and retail communication, IKEA College Delft Netherlands as trainer and facilitator and as Creative Director and partner at Scandinavian Retail Centre since 2008.

NOA Jury member 2020